Weather Forecast


Brrrr....polar vortex might be back

Academic News (June 29, 2011)

Heather Utke was named to the Minnesota State University, Mankato Dean's list.

Utke qualified for the Honor List after earning between a 3.5 and 3.99 grade point average.

Among the more than 15,190 students, a total 730 qualified for the High Honor List by achieving a 4.0 straight "A" average, while 2,231 students earned a 3.5 to 3.99 average to qualify for the Honor List.

To qualify for academic honors, undergraduate students must be enrolled for at least 12 credit hours for a grade.

Michael Livingston of West Fargo recently graduated from Mitchell (S.D.) Technical Institute with an Associated of Applied Science degree in Telecommunications.

Livingston was one of 473 students who graduated from MTI in annual commencement exercises held Friday, May 6, at the World's Only Corn Palace.

Adam Murray, son of Keith and Barb Murray, West Fargo, received the North Dakota State University Presidential Honor Scholarship, which totals $10,000 over four years. The scholarship recognizes high academic achievement and requires the student to score a 29 or above on the ACT.

Murray will enter NDSU in the fall, and plans to major in computer engineering and minor in computer science. In high school, he was active in National Honor Society, Gamers Club, Spanish club and hockey.

Several local students have been named to the second semester Dean's Honor List at Concordia College, Moorhead, for the 2010-2011 academic year.

To qualify for this designation, students must carry a minimum of 12 semester credits and have a grade point average of at least a 3.7 on a 4.0 scale.

Students named to the list include: Jessica Roth, Harwood; Austin Keller, Horace; Levi Bachmeier, Bria Dimke, Kelsey Kava, Emily Marsolek, Meagan McDougall, Jamie Odden, Amanda Paulson, Austin Satrom, Mark Schlotterback, Brook Schlotterback, and Mary-Michael Vance, all West Fargo.