Weather Forecast


Academic News (March 14, 2012)

Danielle Greving, West Fargo, has been named to the University of St. Thomas 2011 fall semester Dean's List. Students must post grade point averages of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale to be named to the Dean's List.

  St. Thomas, founded in 1885, is a Catholic, independent, liberal arts university. With a coeducational student body numbering more than 10,000, it is Minnesota's largest independent college or university. Over 2,000 of the university's undergraduates were named to the fall semester Dean's List.

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln has announced its Deans' List/Honor Roll for the fall 2011 semester. West Fargo students included were: Ellie Marie Grooters, junior, pre-health major College of Arts and Sciences, with a 4.0 grade-point average, and Ashley Marie Reiter, junior, biological sciences major College of Arts and Sciences.

Qualification for the Deans' List varies among the eight undergraduate colleges and the Honor Roll for the Division of General Studies. All qualifying grade-point averages are based on a minimum of 12 or more graded semester hours. Students can be on the Dean's List for more than one college.

Dakota State University released the names of students receiving scholarships for the 2011-2012 academic year. Nearly 500 DSU Foundation scholarships were received.

Tyler Flaagan received the Dakota State University 1st Year Champion Scholarship. Flaagan is a Freshman Computer and Network Security major at DSU from West Fargo. The award is funded by Miles and Lisa Beacom through the Dakota State University Foundation.

Jack Stromberg received the Dakota State University 2nd Year Champion Scholarship. Stromberg is a Sophomore Computer and Network Security major at DSU from West Fargo. The award is funded by Fujitsu America, Inc. through the Dakota State University Foundation.

The DSU Champion Scholarship is renewable which means the student can receive the scholarship in consecutive academic years if a certain criteria is maintained.

Taylor Birrenkott and Beatrice Hill of West Fargo, received the Community of Learners Scholarship from the University of North Dakota for the 2011-2012 academic year. UND welcomes and supports students who aspire to excel as learners and members of the community. This scholarship program is intended to honor and reward students who contribute to enhancing UND as vibrant and connected learners.

Dustin Null, son of Dawn Rheault, West Fargo, has been awarded a Gary and Connie Tharaldson scholarship at Valley City State University, Valley City, N.D., for the 2012-2013 academic year. Dustin will graduate from West Fargo High School in May of 2012.

Valley City State University scholarships are made available as a result of the generous support of alumni and friends of the university. Students are selected to receive these scholarships on the basis of their high school GPA, ACT or SAT scores and their high school class rank.

Nathan Kuik, a student at Northwestern College in Orange City, Iowa, and a 2008 graduate of West Fargo High School, is participating in a social work practicum this semester.

A practicum is a 400-hour field course which provides students with an opportunity to practice fundamental social work skills in a professional setting, ensuring their understanding of the demands of the social work field. Students are working within a wide variety of field sites, ranging from child and family services to community development.

Kuik is a senior and is majoring in social work at Northwestern College. He is completing a practicum at Lutheran Social Services in Sioux Falls, S.D. He is the son of Daniel and Christine Kuik of Brandon.

Northwestern College is a Christian college of more than 1,200 students in Orange City, Iowa. Rated the nation's third-best baccalaureate college by Washington Monthly and a top-10 Midwestern college by U.S. News & World Report magazine, Northwestern provides an education that combines academic rigor with a faith perspective.