Weather Forecast


Board approves two land purchases

The West Fargo School Board voted 5-0* to approve the purchase of two parcels of land to accommodate future growth within the District during Monday night's regular Board meeting. The two parcels include a 20 acre site located within the Fargo city limits near the District's Osgood property where the new kindergarten center is planned, and a 75.94 acre site located about 1 ½ miles north of the Horace School within Horace city limits.

The 20 acre site, currently owned by Norman and Lyla Diede, and selling for $30,000 per acre, is intended to be used for a future elementary school. The purchase price for the larger site is set at $20,000 per acre, and is currently owned by Ellen Holmen from Bloomington, Minn.

The down payments for both parcels will come from the District's Reserve for Land Purchases in Fund 30, and from the General Fund, with a Reimbursement Resolution added to enable future school boards to have the option of including the costs of these purchase agreements in a bond issue.

In other action, the Board awarded bids for construction for the addition to the current West Fargo Kindergarten Center;

• Approved the adoption of a sale resolution relating to the issuance of bonds and reimbursements of expenditures relating to additional kindergarten space;

• Approved a request for additional elementary staff at an estimated cost between $401,080 to $657,880;

• Approved a request for additional secondary staff at an estimated cost of $776,260;

• Approved an extended leave request for a first grade teacher at Eastwood Elementary;

• Viewed the quarterly financial report and March enrollment report;

• Approved expanding a technology implementation position from a .2 to a full-time position;

• And heard a recommendation for the possible creation in the future of one full-time position in the Human Relations department, eight positions in reading intervention, and a part-time position of Dean of Schools. The Dean of Schools position, if created, would primarily deal with disciplinary issues at the high school.

A list of candidates seeking three open seats on the West Fargo School Board was announced, it includes Nancy Kruse, Kay Kiefer, Mark Bourdon, Ben Koppelman, James Osmanski, Patti F. Stedman, and Troy Aswege.

The next regular School Board meeting will be held at 6 p.m. on Monday, April 28, at Horace Elementary School.

*Troy Aswege and Susan Bailey were not able to attend the meeting due to other commitments.