Weather Forecast


Man suspected of trying to run over Bismarck police officer found in South Dakota

Commission reorganizational meeting June24

Incumbent Mark Simmons and newcomer Mike Thorstad were elected to two four-year West Fargo City Commission seats in the Tuesday, June 10, primary election, with incumbent Commissioner Brenda Warren coming in third in the race. Newcomer Thorstad was the top vote-getter with 2,066 votes; Simmons collected 1,709 votes; and Warren 1,590 votes.

A reorganizational meeting of the West Fargo City Commission will take place on Tuesday, June 24, at 5:30 p.m. in the Commission Chambers at West Fargo City Hall. Mike Thorstad and Mark Simmons will be sworn in as City Commissioners, respective portfolios will be assigned for various city departments, and city staff positions will be confirmed.

In other election contests, newcomers were victorious in their bid for the West Fargo School Board, with Benjamin Koppelman, Patti Stedman and Kay Kiefer unseating incumbents Nancy Kruse and Troy Aswege. Three four-year position were up for grabs. Koppelman led candidates with 2,653 votes, Stedman had 2,250 votes and Keifer, 2,058.

Incumbent Kathy Scully and newcomer Todd Rheault were elected to two open park board seats, with Chris Heise in the third place spot. Incumbent Gary Fugere did not seek re-election. Scully had 1,818 votes, Rheault 1,732 and

Heise 1,574.

West Fargo voters also approved a full smoking ban with 57 percent of the voters or 1,887 people voting for the ban which prohibits smoking in bars, all areas of truck stops and public places rented to private parties. Forty-three percent or 1,435 people opposed the measure.

Since this was an advisory vote, the final decision for enacting the ban rested with the West Fargo City Commission who approved second and final reading Monday night. The ban will go into effect July 1. (See details in city commission story).

Cass County Measure 1 asking for a ½ cent economic development sales tax was resoundly defeated by a 63 percent "no" vote.