Weather Forecast


Nitzkorski earns School Board award

Left to right NDSBA President Angela Korsmo, West Fargo; Karen Nitzkorski; Steven Reiser, Washburn; Jannell Lagein, Rock Lake; Greg Allen, Jamestown. Submitted photo

At the recent North Dakota School Boards Association's Annual Convention, West Fargo School Board member Karen Nitzkorski received NDSBA's Veteran Board Member Award with Distinction.

NDSBA recognizes board members for participation in leadership activities at the state and national level, in addition to exemplary work on their local board. The award program, which is based on a point system, is designed to encourage school board members to take advantage of a wide range of training opportunities and to incorporate what they have learned into their local school board service.

Awards are given "with distinction" when a member has taken advantage of National School Boards Association leadership events.

Nitzkorski has served 10 years on the West Fargo School Board, and recently finished serving one year as president.