Weather Forecast


Football: Two Packers named to Badlands Bowl roster

Since the Knights of Columbus Badlands Bowl's Inception in 1994, Montana has held a distinct advantage over North Dakota, compiling a 12-4 record.

Last year, for example, the annual game that pits top prep football players from the two states, ended in a 33-7 Montana rout. North Dakota's last win was in 2007.

This year, hopefully, should be a bit more competitive - especially if two Packers have anything to do about it.

West Fargo seniors Scott Schiller and Jacob Bucholz recently were named to the 2010 North Dakota roster. The Packers duo join student-athletes from across the state, including area players Gerad Fugleberg, Zac Johnson and Sam Callahan of Fargo South; and Tyler Gefroh and Elby Pope of Grand Forks Red River.

Schiller, a defensive lineman, was tied with Jon Morken for first place in tackles after compiling 109 on the season with West Fargo. Schiller has been named to the All-EDC and All-State teams for two consecutive seasons, and was named Most Valuable Defensive Back last season.

Packers captain Bucholz was on the defensive line and played tight end. His 3.5 sacks were tops on the team alongside Tanner Fontaine. Bucholz is a two-time All-EDC and All-State recipient, and was named Most Valuable Defensive Lineman last season.

This year's Badlands Bowl is June 19, in Dickinson.