Weather Forecast


Flyers swim team takes second at state

West Fargo Flyers state champions pose after their meet. Winners include: (back row) Matt Montplaisir, Hallie Peterson, Ethan Doll, Danica Dutt, (front row) Andie Peterson, Tyler Binstock, and Paige Weisz. Submitted photo

The West Fargo Flyers swim team recently finished their winter season, culminating in a second-place finish at the state meet, and Jeff Steele being named Coach of the Year.

More than 80 swimmers competed at state, which was held in Grand Fork. Flyers Ethan Doll, Danica Dutt, Cole Holoien, Matt Montplaisir, Andie Peterson, Hallie Peterson and Paige Weisz brought home individual state championships, while Tyler Binstock won both a state championship and set the state record in the 50 backstroke.

End-of-season awards were presented for each of the competitive age group divisions, and the Krista Rust Memorial Awards epitomizing the spirit of team support. In addition, seven seniors were recognized for their years of dedication and commitment.

Registration for the Flyers' summer season, which begins Aug. 30, is ongoing. Visit for more information.

The following simmers earned awards:

8 & under: Positive Spark, Morgan Bents; Passion for Excellence, Vaughn Raimo; and

Peak Performer, Anna Montplaisir.

9-10: Positive Spark, Kasey Chase; Passion for Excellence, Madison Yonke; and Peak Performer, Anthony Hollingsworth.

11-12: Positive Spark, Abby Aberle; Passion for Excellence, Jaelyn Lardy; and Peak Performer, Bailey Reihl.

13-14: Positive Spark, Winter Martin; Passion for Excellence, Taylor Laufenberg; and Peak Performer, Emily Bourassa.

15-18: Positive Spark, Chelsea Brandt; Passion for Excellence, Aubrey Wentz; and Peak Performer, Alex Smestad.

Krista Rust Award: Cami Birrenkott and Andrea Smith.

Senior achievement awards: Cameron Dutt, Nick Huseby, Rachel Kranda, Alyssa Olson, Alan Repak, Adam Smestad, and Paige Weisz.