Weather Forecast


Football: Nine Packers make Shrine Bowl roster

West Fargo's Zach Neer grabs a pass in front of a Bismarck defender during a game last season. Neer was one of nine Packers recently named to the North Dakota 11-man East Shrine Bowl Roster. David Samson / Forum Communications Co.

Several West Fargo football players earned a spot on the 11-Man East roster for this year's Shrine Bowl, which kicks off at 4 p.m. Saturday at the Alerus Center in Grand Forks.

Alex Fontaine, Tyler Kennedy, Zach Neer and Jon Pistorius all were selected as starters, while West Fargo alternates include Tanner Fontaine, Jordan Gleason, Jake Hermanson and Drew Lemke. In total, he Packers have more players on the 11-Man East roster than any other school.

Other 11-Man East selections from Fargo-Moorhead area schools include Fargo South's Bradley Kepler and Brock Larson, Fargo Shanley's Myles Montplaisir and Stevan Webber, and North's Joe Swegarden.

The East's head coach is Griggs-Barnes County's Davy Zinke, with Troy Mattern (Fargo South), Eric Olson (Milnor-North Sargent) and Scott Roehrich (Valley City) as assistants.